Cat Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
625 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so we are 75% sure my momma Malika is pregnant. She is going to have her babies at my house, and this is my first time with a pregnant cat so I have some questions 8O

Do I leave everything up to her when she is having the baby, or do I help?
Are there any common problems I should look out for?
What should be used at a nesting box?
When do you know that she is going to have her babies soon?
What supplies should I have on hand?

Her last litter was about 8 weeks ago and she had three kittens. I heard that she will probably have more this time around. That true?

Abhay

·
Registered
6,799 Posts
She should go to the vet for a check up, having litters of kittens like this in a row will seriously drain her mentally and physically.
She should not of been let out/let in contact with a male after giving birth.

When was she in contact with the male? Count 63 days from then and you have the due date. But I seriously recomend you take her to the vet, explain the situation and see if they can give you anything to help her phyically as this will take a lot out of her.

Moved to breeding.

·
Banned
2,155 Posts
I'll just tell you what I've learned from my research and my own experience, and hopefully it'll help...

- Cats are very instinctive when it comes to labor and delivery. Most will not need assistance (Scully had two babies before I even woke up). In special cases, such as a large kitten or a breach birth, you may need to help with the delivery, but again, most cats will be fine.

When the babies are born, momma's instincts will be to clean them off. Do not interfere, unless she is completely ignoring the kitten. Her vigorous licking with revive the kitten pretty quickly, and you'll hear some rather loud little mews. Let her eat the the placenta; it's good for her and may actually stimulate her uterus to contract.