Cat Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I've wanted to get a kitten for years but my mum would never have one. Finally moved into my own flat, so now I want to get my kitten :D
I was going to get a regular shelter cat, but there aren't any suitable for me anywhere around me (I want an indoors cat that won't moult constantly, so semi-long or long haired), so I started looking at pedigree cats.
I'm a student, so never out the house for a long time.
I've been looking into Birmans and Ragdolls, but I can't decide between them. How much difference, other than size, is there between ragdolls and birmans? There will be litters of both ready around easter near me, no-one seems to have any kittens at the moment.

Suggestions and help please?

Vixen x

·
Registered
6,802 Posts
I beleive that semi long and long haired animals are more likely to shed fur than short hairs, esp in the summer because they have all that extra fur. I may well be wrong tho, im sure someone here will correct me.
make sure tho if you are going to get a long haired cat you have the time and esp patence to groom it regularly otherwise it can end up in a terrible mess. I say patence because some cats will HATE getting groomed, and will let you know it too!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My partner has a long haired cat at home, and he definately moults a LOT less than any shorthairs I've ever met :)
I'm also the only one with enough courage to brush him, so I am willing to groom a long haired cat.

·
Registered
1,123 Posts
Longhaired cats need more grooming than shorthaired therefor it seems like they shed less fur. The loose fur comes off when you groom the cat.

Breeds that are known for shedding little are Cornish Rex, Devon Rex and Sphynx. I breed Devon Rex and I have a DSH (that doesn't shed!)and you can't find any fur laying around here. People are actuarally suprised when they don't find any "signs" from the cats.